Once again has that rather awkward thing where I make great resolutions and then fail to keep them happened.

In my defense, I haven’t really done anything more on Spoils of War, or any of my other serious WIPs since the last post. Actually, all I have done is write a few thousand words of a story I have so many misgivings about that I titled it ‘Ray Maybe’. Oh, and I translated a few thousand less of those words into fairly poor Swedish, because how else am I to get better, right?

Johannes Punkt, who I have linked before but am to lazy to link again, helped me with corrections and will help me again if I have my nefarious way. Johannes is much better at writing than I am, so I recommend you all go look at my last post so you can find his writing and enjoy it. Quick, quick! Otherwise you’ll have to read my angstnovel translated into Swedish –

En kulspetspenna, en Staedtler triplus fineliner och en anteckningsbok.

Jag lade sakerna på kassan och rotade i väskan efter min plånbok.

”Din slips är fin.”

Jag tittade på kassören. Han stod och scannade koden på den sista varan, tittade på datorskärmen, men det fanns ingen annan i affären utom oss.

”Tack” svarade jag, osäkert. Det lät som om jag ställde honom en fråga.

Han tittade på mig och log, ett charmigt leende och jag kände hur min egen mun helt av sig själv sken upp i ett leende till svar.

”Det blir 7000 kr.”

Jag kunde se hans rörelse medan jag fumlade med plånboken, och han lutade sig mot kassan när jag betalade.

”Även manschettknappar?”

Jag var inte mer förberedd för sin fråga den här gången, och jag tappade plånboken. Men han fortsatt som om ingenting hade hänt. ”Är det ett speciellt tillfälle?”

”Åh, nej, jag bara… det är ju… ja.”

Han bara såg på mig, såg på mig och hojade ett ögonbryn, men han log åt mig än när jag lämnade.

— Oh. Too late.

